Short Courses

Open only to symposium registrants.

Saturday, 19 June 2021

13:00 – 17:00 UTC
09:00 – 13:00 New York | 08:00 – 12:00 Houston | 07:00 – 11:00 Denver | 06:00 – 10:00 Los Angeles
14:00 – 18:00 London | 16:00 – 20:00 Riyadh | 21:00 – 01:00 Beijing | 23:00 – 03:00 Sydney

SHORT COURSE 1

Instructors: Branko Damjanac, Maurillio Torres, Itasca Consulting Group
Venue: Online via the symposium platform
Cost: $125; includes complete course materials.

Numerical modeling of fluid injection treatment of naturally fractured rock masses

Course description

Accurate simulation of the treatment of a rock mass by fluid injection is complex due to the need for coupling fluid flow and mechanics (and potentially temperature) within pre-existing discrete fracture networks, as well as fracture propagation in inhomogeneous and fractured rock masses with no assumptions regarding fracture shapes or trajectories. The workshop will overview XSite, a lattice-based numerical modeling program used to design treatments via fluid and proppant injection for mining, geothermal, and unconventional oil and gas applications.

Course brochure, schedule, speaker bios (PDF)

Saturday, 19 June 2021

THIS COURSE HAS BEEN CANCELED.

SHORT COURSE 2 – Session One

Instructors: M.T. Myers, L. Hathon, A. Simone, S. Govindarajan, E. Van Oort, D. Gokaraju, A Mitra, MetaRocks Laboratories and University of Houston

Laboratory geomechanics measurements for hydrocarbon exploration and production

Course description

Starting from reaching to target depth without non-productive time till well abandonment, principles of geomechanics have been used in hydrocarbon exploration and production frequently and with much success in past decades. For geoscientists or reservoir engineers, typical workflow involves extracting critical information from seismic and/or wireline logs to build models representing subsurface. However, the information obtained this way needs to be calibrated against ground-truth data because of resolution issues faced by the datasets, as subsurface rock material is heterogenous and contains small scale features due to the depositional and diagenetic history. This short course aims to familiarize the audience with principles of geomechanics and evolution of geomechanics over timescale and to explain the concept of rock compressibility and anisotropy and the relation of geomechanics to reservoir description. This is followed by an introduction of laboratory geomechanics workflow and equipment, an overview of designing a geomechanics test program, and an introduction of laboratory geomechanics solution relevant to various oilfield unit operations using experimental data. Topics of discussion include stability of shale during drilling and its impact on well abandonment. Additionally, the topics of wellbore stability, hydraulic fracturing, and sanding are discussed. As a final step, a glimpse of recent developments in lab geomechanics is offered along with a virtual lab tour.

Sunday, 20 June 2021

THIS COURSE HAS BEEN CANCELED.

SHORT COURSE 2 – Session Two

Laboratory geomechanics measurements for hydrocarbon exploration and production

Sunday, 20 June 2021

13:00 – 21:00 UTC
09:00 – 17:00 New York | 08:00 – 16:00 Houston | 07:00 – 15:00 Denver | 06:00 – 14:00 Los Angeles
14:00 – 22:00 London | 16:00 – 00:00 Riyadh | 21:00 – 05:00 Beijing | 23:00 – 07:00 Sydney

SHORT COURSE 3

Instructors: Neal Nagel, Marisela Nagel, Geomechanics SME
Venue: Online via the symposium platform
Cost: $250; includes complete course materials.

Overview of unconventional geomechanics

Course description and modules (PDF)

Sunday, 20 June 2021

13:00 – 17:00 UTC
09:00 – 13:00 New York | 08:00 – 12:00 Houston | 07:00 – 11:00 Denver | 06:00 – 10:00 Los Angeles
14:00 – 18:00 London | 16:00 – 20:00 Riyadh | 21:00 – 01:00 Beijing | 23:00 – 03:00 Sydney

SHORT COURSE 4

Instructors: TBD, Golder Associates
Venue: Online via the symposium platform
Cost: $125; includes complete course materials.

Putting DFN into practice for energy, infrastructure, and mining

Course description

Course description and syllabus will be provided to registered participants.